About the Cabarrus County Government

Cabarrus County is organized by the County-Manager form of government whereby a professional manager is accountable to those elected to office. Cabarrus County is governed by a five–member Board of Commissioners, elected at large in countywide elections to serve four-year staggered terms.

The Board’s primary duties include: adopting an annual budget; establishing the annual property tax rate; setting policies, goals and objectives to direct the County’s growth and development; adopting and providing for ordinances, rules and regulations as necessary for the general welfare of County citizens; entering into written contractual or legal obligations of behalf of the County; and carrying out other responsibilities as set forth by NC General Statutes. The Board also makes appointments to a number of advisory boards and committees.

The County Manager assists the Board of Commissioners in the pursuit of innovative economic, educational and quality-of-life initiatives; provides sound policy proposals for their consideration and implements the policies they establish; and provides professional management of County government, ensuring the delivery of quality government services to a diverse and dynamic community.

​Currently, Cabarrus County is home to approximately 175,000 residents. The County’s business community is diverse with a mix of small and large organizations and industries ranging from bioscience to motorsports, tourism to retail, and manufacturing.